Charitable Interests

Award to a student of Fashion and Textiles at

Edinburgh College of Art

Jenny Neill Award Winner 2009

Jenny Neill, Award Winner 2009, showing members her work


On its revival in 2007, in line with its aim to encourage the trade skills, the Incorporation set up an award at Edinburgh College of Art, the criteria for which is  "for work involving textiles which demonstrates quality of design and execution and imaginative use of colour."  This is presented to a fourth-year student in consultation with the tutors.

In 2011, a similar award was set up at Heriot Watt University School of Textiles and Design to a final year student. The criteria alternates each year between: "for the most Innovative Use of Textile Design Practice" and "for the most Innovative use of Fashion Design Practice"


Another similar award was set up in 2014 at Edinburgh College (the former Telford College); the criteria for which is  "The student who has shown the greatest creativity and travelled the 'Textile Journey' the furthest in the second year of the HND (Higher National Diploma) - Textiles."

In addition to their prize, winners are given guest membership of the Incorporation for one year and invited to the Incorporation's Annual dinner in September, to which they are expected to bring a few of their award winning samples for guests to view.

Winners of the Award at Edinburgh College of Art


Winners of the Award at Heriot Watt University School of Textiles and Design:

2007 Emily Hogarth   2012 Susan Falconer
2008 Lynn Crombie   2013 Sarah Hill
2009 Jennifer Neill   2014   Imogen Broadbridge 
2009 (special award) Janet Gourlay   2015 Laura Macintosh
2010 Magdalena Stasiewska   2016 Catherine Kingsbury-Smith
2011 Laura Haley   2017

Katie-Anna Vizor

2012 Anna Smith   2018 Veronica Skivington
2013 Lucy Simpson   2019 Sarah Millar (winner) and Ilka Paling (highly commended)
2014 Mari Jones   2020 Holly Docherty (assessed by Heriot Watt)
2015 Jasmine Linington      
2016 Evie Coley      

Amelia Busk

2018 Emma Wilkinson & Louise Jean Manley (jointly)      
2019 Molly-Mae Brissett-Haigh      
2020 None (Coronavirus pandemic)   Winners of the Award at Edinburgh College  


  2014 Rosie Watson

Danielle Watson


Grazyna Kaminiarz


Ellen Martin


Dina Gray

      2019 Abbey Jane McCarron
      2020 None (Coronavirus pandemic)